The Roving ChessNuts, founded

in 2001, teaches chess in schools,

community halls, and its own training facilities in Edmonton and other Alberta communities.

The ChessNuts also organize chess tournaments and events .

The Roving ChessNuts are

involved with the national

Chess'n Math Association ratings

Click on Logo 

to find your Rating!







Puzzles are a great way to improve chess skills, plus they make you think and challenge you!

Watch for a new puzzle every day!

And watch for occasional puzzle competitions!

Learn Chess... Play Chess!

Type your paragraph here.

Chess Lessons for Children in Edmonton


​​The Roving ChessNuts

Evaluations of new players for proper placement
in classes, summer camps and tournaments are returning
to The Roving ChessNuts headquarters at 12019 - 76 Street

The former training facility  is back in business.  Appointments must be made.

Phone 780-474-2318 or e-mail rovingchessnuts@

for a list of possible evaluation times. 

Our Mission
To aid and improve the development of logical and strategic thinking skills in Alberta's youth.
Why Chess?
Chess is a game of perfect information, nothing happens due to luck or random chance. The player is presented with all the information they need to make a decision. Every move the player must process the information they are given in a logical manner and come up with the most strategic solution to the problem. Often times this requires planning many moves in advance.

A single game of chess is comparable to solving dozens or even hundreds of logical problems. Repeated training of the brain in solving logical problems aids students in their real life problem-solving and planning skills. Not only does chess have these educational benefits, it is also a fun and competitive game which keeps students engaged and eager to learn.

 Chess Instructors

Chess Supervisors

Roving ChessNuts has a growing number of opportunities to teach chess or supervise children with chess games.  Supervisors must be good chess players and able to supervise younger children as they learn legal moves and how to checkmate. Perfect well-paid parttime work for retired teachers and university students having noon hours and after school availability or weekday evenings.

Apply with resume or e-mail for further information:

The daily Three-Puzzle feature is below these updates

Sunday's Flash Tournament at Whitemud Park has been cancelled.  Too few players showed interest in the proposed outdoor Sunday morning mini-tournament at Whitemud so it will not occur.  However, there will be an indoor mini-tournament Sunday afternoon, August 11, sign-in time 12:45 p.m., at our training facility, 12019 76 Street.  Up to 14 players will be allowed to play for trophies and medals in round-robin sections.   As part of the entry fee, hotdog (beef or veggie) will be served along with snack and juice box as the event winds down.  If weather is nice, some playing tables may be outside along with hotdog eating tables.  Watch for online registration to start this weekend.  Entry fee will be just $20 ($15 for second player same family).


Sam Hoekman proved his mental chess abilities at the chess board along with his physical prowess Friday, July 5, at the Commando Chess Tournament which finished off the Roving ChessNuts first summer camp, July 2 to 5. Top Commando Hoekman got a perfect 4/4 score in chess and topped his squad in fitness competitions that included holding a plank, a shuttle run, weight ball throw, standing jump and an endurance run.  Kai Riley also won his squad in the physical department but came second in chess.  Manny Perla was the winner of the third squad's fitness department. 

Greenfield Community Hall  Chess Classes for the school year have now ended with the exception of the last Chess Bonanza Class. We thank the dozens of students and their parents who participated in all the classes.  There will be advance registration for the fall session of classes starting the week of September 9.

Next Summer Chess Camps at Greenfield Hall August 19 to 23, 26 to 29
                                      Check out Page 3 of June 27 Chess Teasers

Results and Photos of End of School Year Chess Tournament

and Chess Family Picnicwhich switched from outside to inside

Updated Summer Chess Camp Information for August

Full-day, Half day spots for less than whole week are now available

More Rating Recognition Awards are presented

Check out the June 27 4-page Chess Teasers

Spots in August Chess and Fitness Camps

at Greenfield are close to filled!

See the updated Camp Flyer